Board of Trustees

The Board is composed of fifteen members and three non-voting members, each member representing a different mission.  The Board for school year 2017-2018 was elected in February 20, 2017 using the approved qualifications and procedures.  The qualifications for a mission to have a Board member are:  will have averaged, over the previous and current school year, at least one full-time equivalent staff and five students at Faith Academy or at least three full-time equivalent staff, and will have at least one full-time equivalent staff during the initial year the nominee will serve on the Board.  Furloughing staff members fulfill these requirements.

Qualifying missions submit nominations for board members.  Board members serve 3-year terms; only 5 of the 15 Board seats come up for election each year.  Those nominated but not elected will serve as non-voting members and will be on one of the Board’s standing committees.  Board members serve not to lobby for the interests of their individual missions, but instead serve the wider mission community through having the school’s best interests in mind.

Each Board member serves on one of three standing committees – the Assessment Committee, the Vision and Resource Committee, or the Finance Committee.  Members focus on such larger issues as policy, planning for the future, and evaluation.   The Board meets at least six times a year.  By Board policy, Board meetings are “open to all interested parties within the school community.  Permission to speak will only be granted by the Executive Committee upon prior written request.”

Board Members School Year 2017-2018

Dave Clinton FL  (First Love)
Jonathan Ferguson World Vision
Mike Gingerich Action International Ministries
Jen Hagen International Mission Board
Marla Henderson OC International
Kyung Jin Koh Presbyterian Church of Korea
Anke Malessa OMF International
Stephen McKnight Assemblies of God
Rachel Miles Summer Institute of Linguistics
Steve Pardue Teach Beyond
Gihwan Jeong Korean Christian Network
Tom Potter Action International Ministries
Christine Ralston World Venture/CBM
Scot Riggins Church of the Nazarene
Robert Smith New Tribes Mission
Larry Thiessen Philippine Sending Council/SEND